Become a member

Become a member

Members of the High Ambition Coalition (HAC) to End Plastic Pollution commit to an overarching political vision to end plastic pollution by 2040 as well as the three strategic global goals and seven deliverables for success in this regard. The High Ambition Coalition now has 66 Members: Rwanda, Norway, Canada, Peru, Germany, Senegal, Georgia, Republic of Korea, UK, Switzerland, Portugal, Chile, Denmark, Finland, Sweden, Costa Rica, Iceland, Ecuador, France, the Dominican Republic, Uruguay, Ghana, Monaco, Slovenia, the United Arab Emirates, Republic of Ireland, Seychelles, the Netherlands, Belgium, Luxembourg, Cabo Verde, Burkina Faso, Australia, Azerbaijan, Colombia, Austria, Greenland, Jordan, Panama, Mali, New Zealand, Bulgaria, Montenegro, Cook Islands, Mexico, Guinea, Antigua and Barbuda, Armenia, Maldives, Federated States of Micronesia, Nigeria, Romania, Gabon, Japan, Mauritius, Spain, Estonia, Palau, Israel, Togo, Solomon Islands, Malawi, Moldova, Benin, Ukraine and the European Union.

HAC members will work together to mobilize countries to take decisive action and undertake joint work to identify essential elements and fill knowledge gaps with the aim to further develop ambitious and science-based input on possible objectives, targets, policies, standards and mechanisms to inform the intergovernmental negotiations towards an ambitious treaty to End Plastic Pollution.

See concept note for more information (English | French | Spanish).

To join the HAC to End Plastic Pollution, a Note Verbale or signed letter to the Co-Chairs of the Coalition H.E. Dr. Valentine Uwamariya, Minister of Environment of Rwanda and H.E. Anne Beathe Tvinnereim, Minister of International Development of Norway, expressing support for the High Ambition Coalition to End Plastic Pollution, including its common ambition to end plastic pollution by 2040, global strategic goals, key deliverables for success and Ministerial Joint Statements, should be emailed to, with copy to and

The HAC to End Plastic Pollution is an intergovernmental coalition, therefore at the moment it is only open for countries to join.

Dr Jeanne d’Arc Mujawamariya, Minister of Environment of the Republic of Rwanda and Co-Chair of the HAC to End Plastic Pollution

Espen Barth Eide, Minister of Climate and Environment of Norway and Co-Chair of the HAC to End Plastic Pollution

Solomon Pavliashvili, Deputy Minister of Environmental Protection and Agriculture of Georgia

Lord Goldsmith of Richmond Park, Minister of State for the Pacific and the International Environment, United Kingdom of Great Britain

Maisa Rojas, Minister for the Environment of Chile

Duarte Cordeiro, Minister of Environment and Climate Action of Portugal

Lea Wermelin, Minister of Environment of Denmark

Annika Strandhäll, Minister for Climate and the Environment of Sweden

Maria Ohisalo, Minister of the Environment and Climate Change of Finland

Steven Guilbeault, Minister of Environment and Climate Change of Canada

Ms. Bérangère Couillard, Minister of State for Ecology of France

Miguel Ángel Rodríguez Mackay, Minister of Foreign Affairs of Peru

Christian Guillermet, Vice-Minister of Multilateral Affairs of Costa Rica

Zakia Khattabi, Minister for Climate, Environment, Sustainable Development and Green Deal of Belgium

Become a member